Is it over then ? Harry Potter and Deathly Hollow released

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollow, seventh and last episode of the Harry Potter series has launched yesterday and one copy of it is resting in my hands at the moment. DH was set to release at July 21 3 am in the morning almost at all bookstores and hypermarkets all over Dubai. There were attractive advertisements from different resellers in the Friday newspapers ranging from photoshot with Daniel Redcliff to lucrative sale for a short duration during the launch.

Although J.K.Rowling took aggressive steps to ensure that book won’t get leaked before its launch but it got leaked and just a day or two before the launch day, electronic copy of the book was circulating widely and wildly on the Internet along with a number of fake ones. Avoiding a fake one, I think, is pretty easy if you have read the previous ones and have ready it many times. I am sure you will agree with me that J.K.Rowling has got style of her own , a unique style, which none of the fake one could copy. There are two versions of the electronic copy of the book are circulating (one is a complete page by page photo of complete book and other is the complete text in either .doc or .pdf. ( I know what you are thinking right now and yes ,you are right;) )

Anyway, we decided to checkout the launch at Geant Hypermarket in Ibn-e-Batuta mall, and may be if we got lucky enough, we might had a copy of DH for ourselves. We reach the mall at around 2:45 am, hoping we were the only fanatics there at the launch, but amazed to see a lot people gathered there. They were around 70-80 in numbers, all standing patiently in a queue, which vanished quickly as the hypermarket’s entrances were opened at 3 am , and a torrent of people from different age group started rushing into the hypermarket, we were among them. We were at the back of the crowd, I searched for the book stall and immidiately found it. The number of book was small, I feared that I won’t get hold of any book there, and hence I rushed towards the stand, and when we reached there , I saw almost all of the book intact from the crowd before us, which had to our amazement, diverted towards the electronics section (15-20 % sale for 3am 6am exclusively for HP launch). That was a scene to watch, people waiting in line for almost hours, not to grab the book which is being launched but for the daily use electronic items, that they can buy any day. The stunned me for sometime, when I recovered , I picked up my copy (AED 99/-) alongwith two of my friends who picked their copies too. There was very short term (25% off) sale on books and CD/DVDs , so the book cost me around AED 75/-. I also purchased the previous books of the series, as I don’t have a copy of them. That makes AED 270/- for the complete HP series.

Queue at Geant

[Queue at Geant]

Queue still contd.

HP7 Book Stand

[HP 7 Book Stand ]

3 proud owners

[RTL: Irfan bhai ,Khurram bhai  and Invisible me (holding the book)]

Electronic Sale at Geant

Electronic Sale at Geant

So now I am reading it, just finished the chapter 15. I have only slept for 2-3 hours after I started reading it at 4:00 am in the morning. I guess, I will complete it in a few hours. Let me know if you need any spoilers 😛 . By the way, as always it is the best of JKR, as far as I have read it.

regards

faraz

(PS:
Photo credits: Fazeel bhai)

2 responses to “Is it over then ? Harry Potter and Deathly Hollow released

  1. Who decides which books get press (Harry Potter) and which get censored? After all, censorship is becoming America’s favorite past-time. The US gov’t (and their corporate friends), already detain protesters, ban books like “America Deceived” from Amazon and Wikipedia, shut down Imus and fire 21-year tenured, BYU physics professor Steven Jones because he proved explosives, thermite in particular, took down the WTC buildings. Free Speech forever (especially for books).
    Last link (before Google Books caves to pressure and drops the title):
    http://www.iuniverse.com/bookstore/book_detail.asp?&isbn=0-595-38523-0

  2. oh boy!! What else can one expect from a place like Dubai?

Leave a Reply

